New to Voodoo

The essence of Perfection. What is it that makes that Surreal Sound?

New to Voodoo

Post by Newbie »

Greetings Audio Enthusiast!

I am new to the audio enhancement biz and am in need of some expert opinions. I have a un modified Kenwood TS-850SAT and just have acquired a rack of kool Behringer gadgets. I am at the stage of purchasing the microphone and would like to ask the group for recommendations. I am not doing the SSB thing, sticky AM. I am tinkering with the solid state equipment too see if it can compare in anyway to the old tube boat anchor Johnson’s, Collins, etc.

I run amplifiers that do have blowers so please keep this in mind when suggesting a microphone.

I appreciate any advice offered,

Regards,

Chris

Voodoo Guru
VooDoo Site Admin

Big Decision

Post by Voodoo Guru »

Hmmmm Chris....

That is a tricky question.
It all depends on How you will be using the rig, and what you want the end result to be.

We think with the equipment you have and the conditions you described, the best choice would be a Dynamic Microphone.

For the Price and the Performance, we think the best one would be the Heil Sound PR-30 Microphone.

http://www.heilsound.com/amateur/pr-30.htm

Another good choice but more expensive would be the RE-20 or RE-27 from Electrovoice.

http://www.electrovoice.com/electrovoic ... endocument

These are just our opinions.
There are allot of Mics out there. Some cheaper, some more expensive.
That is a hard decision.
Good Luck.
Last edited by Voodoo Guru on Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Voodoo Guru
From Deep in the IDD of the Sub-Harmonix Realm

microphone choice

Post by Newbie »